Answer: Usually, when a record is deleted within a business system, it should be considered to be gone forever. For this reason it's very important only to delete records that are positively no longer needed. However, there is a way in Solid Business Central™ that records can be restored, if still available. To better understand how this all works, we’ll first outline what it means to "delete" a record.
When a record is deleted, although it can no longer be viewed in a list of records, it does still exist in the Solid Business Central™ system. Because of this, a deleted record can be thought of as inactive or hidden.
- When viewing a record database, such as [Datafile / Customer / View], there's a field at the very top left called 'Deleted HIDDEN', and a Menu Choice along the bottom of [F7 - Sh del] (Show Deleted). By using this [F7 - Sh del] key, the field in the top left will change to be 'Deleted SHOWING'.
- By viewing records when 'Deleted' is set to 'Showing', any record that is currently inactive will have the word 'Deleted' written just beneath the version number of Solid Business Central™ in the top right corner, whereas for all active records, this area will be blank.
- To restore a deleted record back to being Active or Visible, press the [Delete] key on the keyboard to display the confirmation, "Do you wish to recall this (record)? (y/N)". By using the [Y] key on the keyboard for Yes, this record will be restored to active status. A word of caution though is that if a [System / Optimize] or [System / Upgrade] procedure is run, then all inactive/hidden records will be permanently deleted for whichever data set those system procedures are run for.